THE CITY OF NEWPORT

ITEM 13

REPORT TO: STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION

DATE: 8 MARCH 2017

REPORT TO: STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION

SUBJECT: EXECUTIVE VOTING

There will be **two vacancies** on the WASACRE Executive Committee at the AGM to fill. (Vicky Thomas and Gill Vaisey have finished their term of office).

Chair

Phil Lord has completed his two years as Chair. Edward Evans will become Chair at the AGM.

Vice Chair

The position of Vice Chair of WASACRE is vacant

Please note

If your SACRE is already represented on the Executive committee, according to the WASACRE Constitution you will not be able to nominate a person from your own SACRE at this time.

Huw Stephens is the Newport representative on WASACRE Executive and therefore Newport SACRE will not be able to nominate.



*Cadeirydd/*Chairman: Philip Lord

Ysgrifennydd/Secretary: Paula Webber 23, Bryngwyn Road, Newbridge, NP11 4GX

*e-bost/*e-mail: <u>Paula.WebberConsultancy@gmail.com</u> *ffôn/ tel* : 07540 172596

23 January 2017

Dear Clerk to SACRE,

Following our normal annual process, I am writing to invite SACREs to make nominations for new members of the WASACRE Executive Committee and for the position of Vice Chair. Please would your SACRE discuss any nomination that they wish to make at their spring term SACRE meeting. Please note that if your SACRE is already represented on the Executive committee, with the exception of Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Treasurer, according to the WASACRE Constitution you will not be able to nominate a person from your own SACRE at this time.

Please find attached a proforma that should be completed and returned to me at the above email/postal address by **Friday 31 March 2017**. I will send to you the list of the nominations before Friday 28 April 2017, so that your SACRE is able to discuss them in their summer term meeting in time for the vote at the Association's AGM in July.

Please note there is an expectation that nominees will be available to attend executive meetings regularly should they be successful in the election at the AGM in July.

We would like to thank you and your members for your assistance in this matter.

Yours sincerely,

Paula Webber Secretary to WASACRE



LIST OF EXECUTIVE MEMBERS SEPTEMBER 2016/17

- Philip Lord- Flintshire (Chair)
- Edward Evans- Bridgend (Vice Chair)
- Tania ap Sion- Wrexham (Immediate Past Chair)
- Paula Webber- RCT (Secretary)
- Libby Jones- Wrexham (Assistant Secretary/Welsh Government Liaison officer)
- John Mitson- Powys (Treasurer)
- Bethan James- NAPfRE
- 1. Vicky Thomas- Torfaen -period of office 2014-2017
- 2. Gill Vaisey- Monmouthshire (REC Rep for WASACRE)- period of office 2014-2017
- 3. Cllr Ernie Galsworthy- Merthyr Tydfil period of office 2015-2018
- 4. Mathew Maidment- RCT- period of office- 2016- 2019
- 5. Huw Stephens- Newport -period of office 2016- 2019
- 6. Mary Parry- Carmarthenshire -period of office 2016- 2019

Vacant seats as of WASACRE AGM July 2017

Quorum is 5 members

Majority vote will count